Skip to content

Campus Security

December 22, 2012

And when they heard the words of Wayne LaPierre, they stopped their ears and gnashed upon him with their teeth.

Although I don’t agree with every aspect of NRA’s Wayne LaPierre’s speech I wholeheartedly admire him for speaking from his heart as he did. He is more right than wrong – he was right in denouncing the video games and other influences that are desecrating the morals of our nation. Are the demonstrators waiving their flags in front of their offices and factories? I know the answer to that – no.

But armed guards in schools? I don’t see that is realistic. Yet in light of the fact that we are all subject to the next outburst of violence from some idiot – Mr. LaPierre is right that schools cannot be totally disarmed, weapon free environments. That IS an invitation to some whacko to wreak maximum havoc. It makes sense to me that in every school there should be a few people who are trained and qualified to swing quickly into action in a moment’s notice. I am talking about trained, armed staff, or at least staff that can access a weapon at a moment’s notice and have a knowledge of how to use it. Yes, I know they have other things they need to be doing, and I concede that this idea isn’t for every dedicated elementary school teacher. But I envision a feisty teacher that loves her students with all her heart that would rather have a gun within reach in the event of a dreaded intrusion, than to simply huddle with her students in a corner. Yes – perhaps out of a school of twenty staff members, teachers and administrators, I can see much more safety in a school if say 25% of the staff – 5 out of 20 – were able to meet an armed intruder. I certainly see that as better than nothing.

I also see the value of plain clothes volunteer security – grandparents, retired or other concerned citizens – eyes that can help keep watch of anything amiss.

From → Current Events

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment