Skip to content

Time to Play ‘Arn’t You Glad Your Not That Person’

April 30, 2014

I hope it’s true that I’m too wise to ever be smug. To be smug is to be proud and foolish. I know only too well not to boast of tomorrow for I know not what a day may bring forth.

But with that said, there are some days I sit in my modest home, maybe in the back yard next to the pool – a house that is in sore need of repair, a house on a non descript street in a hick town in the San Joaquin Valley, feeling safe and secure because I am not that person I just read about.

I never feel that way about someone who has had misfortune, like the victims of the Boston bombing – left crippled, or a parent of an afflicted child – in cases like that, I think we all feel the loss, and we become one together in the pathos of the fortunes and misfortunes of life.

But today, Donald Sterling was banned from the NBA – because of his arrogance and selfish stupidity. Just like Bernie Madoff who bilked hundreds if not thousands of people out of their life’s savings, he got what he deserved.

So today, I think, no matter how much money he has, one thing he can’t buy is happiness, and for his own foolishness, he must be the most miserable man in the world.

It’s time to play, ‘Arn’t you glad you’re not that person’.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment